Sub Logo

Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology

Principal Investigators

Dr. Lorne Tyrrell
Director Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology
CIHR/GSK Professor of Virology
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6010 Katz Centre for Health Research
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2E1
Ph : (780) 492-6018/492-8415
Fx : (780) 492-5304
lorne.tyrrell@ualberta.ca
http://www.mmi.med.ualberta.ca/staff_students/lorne_tyrrell.php
Dr. David Evans
Associate Director Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology
Professor & Chair
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6020 Katz Centre for Health Research
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2E1
Ph : (780) 492-2309
Fx : (780) 492-5304
devans@ualberta.ca
http://www.mmi.med.ualberta.ca/staff_students/david_evans.php
Dr. Lorne Babiuk
Vice-President Research
Office of the Vice-President (Research)
University of Alberta
1-20 University Hall
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2J9
Ph:(780) 492-5353
Fx: (780) 492-3189
lorne.babiuk@ualberta.ca
http://www.research.ualberta.ca/OfficeoftheVPR/AbouttheVPR.aspx
Dr. Khaled Barakat
Research Assistant Professor
Pharmaceutical Sciences
University of Alberta
2-020G Katz Research Building
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E1
Phone: 780.492-5783
kbarakat@ualberta.ca
Dr. Michele Barry
Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-21 Heritage Medical Research Centre
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2S2
Ph : (780) 492-0702
Fx : (780) 492-9828
michele.barry@ualberta.ca
http://www.mmi.med.ualberta.ca/staff_students/michele_barry.php
Dr. Christopher Bleackley
Professor
Biochemistry - School of Translational Medicine
University of Alberta
467a Medical Sciences Building
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2H7
Ph: 780.492.3968
Fx: 780.492.0886
chris.bleackley@ualberta.ca
http://biochem.med.ualberta.ca/Research/faculty/Professors/Pages/Bleackley.aspx
Dr. Deborah Burshtyn
Associate Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-59A Heritage Medical Research Centre
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2S2
Ph : (780) 492-0646
Fx : (780) 492-9828
burshtyn@ualberta.ca
http://www.mmi.med.ualberta.ca/staff_students/debby_burshtyn.php
Dr. Edan Foley
Assistant Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-71 Heritage Medical Research Centre
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2S2
Ph : (780) 492-2303
Fx : (780) 492-9828
efoley@ualberta.ca
http://www.ualberta.ca/~efoley/home.html
Dr. Matthias Götte
Professor & Chair
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-020 Katz Research Centre
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E1
Phone: 780-492-2308
Fax: 780-492-7521
mgotte@ualberta.ca
Dr. Klaus Gutfreund
Associate Professor
Gastroenterology
University of Alberta
Zeidler Ledcor Centre
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2X8
B (780) 492-0388
klaus.gutfreund@ualberta.ca
Dr. Bart Hazes
Associate Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-020 Katz Group Centre
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E1
Ph : (780) 492-0042
Fx : (780) 492-7521
bart.hazes@ualberta.ca
Dr. Mary Hitt
Associate Professor
Oncology
University of Alberta
5-142H Katz Group Centre
114 Street & 87 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E1
Phone: 780.492.6351
mary.hitt@albertahealthservices.ca
http://www.oncology.med.ualberta.ca/AboutUs/FacultyMembers/Pages/ExperimentalOncology.aspx?P=15#sthash.5X1dZIWP.dpuf
Dr. Tom Hobman
Professor
Cell Biology
University of Alberta
6-142 Katz Center for Health Research
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2E1
Ph: (780) 492-6485
Fx: (780) 492-0450
tom.hobman@ualberta.ca
http://www.cellbiology.ualberta.ca/FacultyMembers/TomHobman.aspx
Dr. Michael Houghton
Li Ka Shing Professor of Virology
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6010 Katz Centre for Health Research
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2E1
Ph: (780) 248-1888
Fx : (780) 492-5304
michael.houghton@ualberta.ca
http://www.mmi.med.ualberta.ca/staff_students/michael_houghton.php
Dr. Robert Ingham
Associate Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-142H Katz Group Centre
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E1
Ph : (780) 248-1980
Fx : (780) 492-7521
ringham@ualberta.ca
Dr. Kevin Kane
Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-60A Heritage Medical Research Centre
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2S2
Ph : (780) 492-4997
Fx : (780) 492-9828
kevin.kane@ualberta.ca
http://www.mmi.med.ualberta.ca/staff_students/kevin_kane.php
Dr. Norman Kneteman
Professor
Surgical Oncology
University of Alberta Hospital
2D4.44 WCM, 8440 - 112 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta , Canada T6G 2B7
Ph: (780) 407-6168
kneteman@ualberta.ca
http://www.oncology.med.ualberta.ca/AboutUs/FacultyMembers/Pages/Surgical-Oncology.aspx?P=92
Dr. Katharine Magor
Associate Professor
Biological Sciences
University of Alberta
CW 326 Biological Sciences
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2E9
Ph: (780) 492-5498
Fx: (780) 492-9234
kmagor@ualberta.ca
http://www.biology.ualberta.ca/faculty/katharine_magor/
Dr. David Marchant
Assistant Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-142F Katz Group Centre
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E1
Phone: (780) 492-3119
Fax: (780) 492-7521
marchant@ualberta.ca
Dr. Andy Mason
Professor
Gastroenterology
University of Alberta
7-142 Katz Centre for Health Research
Edmonton Alberta, Canada T6G 2E1
Ph: (780) 492-8176
Fx: (780) 492-1655
andy.mason@ualberta.ca
http://cegiir.med.ualberta.ca/AndrewMason.html
Dr. Hanne Ostergaard
Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-60A Heritage Medical Research Centre
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2S2
Ph : (780) 492-7710
Fx : (780) 492-9828
hanne.ostergaard@ualberta.ca
http://www.mmi.med.ualberta.ca/staff_students/hanne_ostergaard.php
Dr. Lilly Pang
Associate Professor
Dr. Luis Schang
Associate Professor
Biochemistry - School of Translational Medicine
University of Alberta
6-142 Katz Center for Health Research
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2E1
Ph: (780) 492-6265
Fx: (780) 492-3383
luis.schang@ualberta.ca
http://biochem.med.ualberta.ca/Research/faculty/AssociateProfessors/Pages/Schang.aspx
Dr. Stephen Shafran
Professor
Infectious Diseases
University of Alberta
1-135 CSB
Phone; 780-492-3319
Fax: 780-492-8050
sshafran@ualberta.ca
Dr. Maya Shmulevitz
Assistant Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-142 Katz Center for Health Research
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2E1
Ph: (780) 492-0623
Fx: (780) 492-7521
maya.shmulevitz@ualberta.ca
http://www.mmi.med.ualberta.ca/staff_students/MayaShmulevitz.php
Dr. Jim Smiley
Professor
Medical Microbiology & Immunology
University of Alberta
6-32 Heritage Medical Research Building
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2S2
Ph : (780) 492-4070
Fx : (780) 492-9828
jim.smiley@ualberta.ca
http://www.mmi.med.ualberta.ca/staff_students/james_smiley.php
Dr. Jack Tuszynski
Professor
Oncology
University of Alberta
Cross Cancer Institute
11560 University Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 1Z2
Tel: 780.432.8906
jackt@ualberta.ca
http://www.oncology.med.ualberta.ca/AboutUs/FacultyMembers/Pages/ExperimentalOncology.aspx?P=13#sthash.5mSeMGZw.dpuf
Dr. Gane Wong
Professor & iCORE Chair
Biological Sciences
University of Alberta
Z 310, Biological Sciences
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2E9
Ph: (780) 492-8663
Fx: (780) 492-9234
gane@ualberta.ca
http://www.biology.ualberta.ca/faculty/gane_wong/
Dr. Richard Wozniak
Professor
Cell Biology
University of Alberta
6-51 Medical Sciences Building
Edmonton, Alberta Canada T6G 2H7
Ph: (780) 492-1384
Fx: (780) 492-0450
rick.wozniak@ualberta.ca
http://www.cellbiology.ualberta.ca/en/FacultyMembers/RichardWozniak.aspx