Sub Logo

Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology

Virology at the U of A


  • Novel therapeutics and vaccines for Hepatitis C (Team Lead: Dr. M. Houghton). Dr. Houghton received the Lasker Medical Award in 2000 for his contribution to the discovery of the Hepatitis C virus.
  • Transgenic mouse model with humanized liver (KMTTM Mouse) (Team Leads: Drs. N. Kneteman and L. Tyrrell). Using this model, a University of Alberta spinoff company, KMT Hepatech Inc., is the US National Institutes of Health primary site for testing antivirals against Hepatitis C. This model can also be used for studies of Hepatitis B, malaria, and other anti-virals.
  • High throughput siRNA screening (Team Lead: Dr. E. Foley). Identification of potential new therapeutic cellular targets involved in viral uptake and replication that can be inhibited by pharmaceutical intervention.
  • Immune boosters of innate immunity (Team Lead: Dr. L. Babiuk). New compounds have been identified that can be used together with anti-infectives to help clear a pathogen, as well as to act as novel adjuvants to modulate the immune response.
  • HIV / AIDS Research – multi-disciplinary team studying HIV epidemiology, pathogenisis, and associated diseases. Have established a large clinical specimen bank with over 20,000 individual patient samples collected over 20 years for longitudinal studies at a local, national and global context.



  • Hepatitis B – Dr. L. Tyrrell, former Dean of Medicine, developed the world’s first oral antiviral drug lamivudine now marketed worldwide by GSK.
  • Hepatitis C – Dr. M. Houghton (Li Ka Shing Professor of Virology & Canada Excellence Research Chair), Lasker award winning scientist led the discovery of Hepatitis C virus at Chiron.
  • Pox – Dr. D. Evans, Chair, Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, sits on the smallpox scientific advisory panel of the World Health Organization.
  • Viral/Cell interaction – Drs. M. Berry and R. Wozniak, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Scholars.
  • Vaccinology – Dr. L. Babuik, Canada Research Chair in Vaccinology and Biotechnology (founder of VIDO, Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization).
Babiuk, L.Former director of VIDO, vaccine technologies
Barakat, K.
Barry, M.Poxvirus, perterbation of immune defenses, apoptosis, ubiquitin regulation of protein stability
Bleackley, C.Cellular immunology, CT killing mechanisms
Burshtyn, D.Natural killer cell signalling, virus infection models
Evans, D.Poxvirus replication, anti-viral drugs, host virus interactions
Doucette, K.
Foley, E.Immune signalling, RNA interference, oncolytic viruses
Götte, M.
Gutfreund, K.
Hazes, B.
Hawkes, M.
Hemmings, D.
Hitt, M.Adenovirus gene therapy, oncolytic viruses
Hobman, T.West Nile, rubella viruses, RNA interference
Houghton, M.HBV & HCV vaccinology, viral etiology of inflammatory disease
Ingham, R.
Kane, K.Cellular immunology, virus vaccines, influenza vaccines
Kneteman, N.
Lee, B.
Magor, K.Avian influenza virus, innate immunity, duck models
Marchant, D.
Mason, A.Retroviruses, clinical virology, virus discovery
Ostergaard, H.Cellular immunology, immune signalling
Pang, L.Norwalk virus, antigenic drift, moleucular epidemiology
Preksaitis, J.Director Provincial Laboratories; virus diagnostics
Pukatzki, S.
Schang, L.Herpes viruses, novel antiviral agents
Shafran, S.
Shmulevitz, M.Reovirus, viral oncolysis, host-virus interactions
Smiley, J.Herpes viruses, transcription, antibody based technologies
Tang, J.
Tipples, G.
Tuszynski, J.
Tyrrell, G.
Tyrrell, L.HBV & HCV; infection models and antiviral therapies
Wong, G.Biosystems informatics, pathodgen discovery, genomic studies of 1000 herlpab plants
Wozniak, R.Viruses and nuclear transport